Tags

,

I just wrote a great opening post about my journey while giving up chocolate for Lent. WordPress said it had posted my post. I accidentally closed the tab. My post? *POOF!* Gone.

Now I have to rewrite perfection? RAWR!

Welcome! To my blog! Where I have already gone crazy, as is apparent, but am going to drive myself further into insanity by giving up my favourite vice, chocolate.

Big deal? Big deal. Really Big Deal. I love chocolate. I love dark chocolate most of all, but am not a snob and so I enjoy milk and white as well. White the least. Let’s be real, it’s fake chocolate. Milk is very tasty, but often unsatisfying. Dark chocolate – I’m talking at 82% – is the stuff dreams are made of. One small piece of dark chocolate melting on my tongue can ease the stress of almost anything. It cheers me when I’m down. It’s celebratory, yet still every day. A treat, but one in which I overindulge.

Chocolate has a hold on me, and I intend to change that.

Why now? Lent. It’s coming, and so is Jesus. Now, you non-Jesus folk please don’t run off. Maybe you could be as open-minded as me, eh? I tend not to hate anyone and I read and learn about different viewpoints voraciously. Lent is a period of (approximately) 40 days before Easter Sunday that we Christians use as a time for solemn reflection and penance in preparation for what is The Biggest Deal in the Church. Catholics kick it up a notch by giving up a vice for that time period – with the opportunity to give up said vice forever, but it’s not a requirement. I’ve given up swearing. A few times. Don’t tell my mother. Many people give up candy and sweets, then dig in on Easter Sunday. Perhaps where the chocolate part of the holiday comes from? No clue. So is there going to be some religious reflection here? Yes. Are you going to get to laugh at my chocolate-withdrawals. Yes. Winning combination.

Three Lenten seasons ago I considered giving up chocolate for the first time. My instant reaction thought was, “You’d go insane.” That is how much I depend on chocolate. Last year I considered it again, but this time my reaction thought was, “Could you really do it?” This year I thought, “Yes.”

I’m doing it. I’m giving up chocolate for Lent.

I wholeheartedly intend to indulge in chocolate again at Easter, but I hope at that time I will be in control instead of under a spell. I’ve created this blog as a means of self-motivation. And reflection. And some comedy. Guys, I’M A WOMAN AND I’M GIVING UP CHOCOLATE.

To those who read this, know that I’m sarcastic, witty, and while there may be some actual reflective “Ah HA!” moments, I intend this read to be entertaining.

To those who read this and know me? You may want to keep your distance until Easter Sunday. You’ve been warned! Here. If you find this by surfing the ‘Net and figure out this is me.

When does this all begin? Well that’s The Kicker. Ash Wednesday this year, which marks the start of Lent, is March 5th.

My 30-something-th birthday.

Days until chocolate-free: 13

I think the Serenity prayer is appropriate and so I’ll end with this:

God, Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.

Amen.

